My summertime battle with the blinking cursor and the blank screen

There’s nothing that taunts as viciously as a blinking cursor.

There’s nothing that intimidates quite like a blank screen. 

This will be the summer I conquer both. 

Summer affords teachers a fresh start. New opportunities beyond our classrooms. Most often we pursue these adventures to strengthen our skills as educators. Sometimes, though, these pursuits must be more personal. 

This summer, mine is.  

This summer, my goal is simply to write. From 9 to noon most days I will be here – staring down this blinking cursor and filling this blank screen with my thoughts, memories, ideas, and questions.  

This will be the summer that I welcome the challenge of writing instead of fearing it. I will embrace the endless possibilities, unlimited choices, constant scrutiny of words and phrases, and even the twinge of self doubt. 

I will use that cursor to construct my thoughts and fill that blank screen with the observations and ideas that mean the most to me. 

In her wonderful book Bird by Bird, Anne Lamott observes that writers must care, that “a writer always tries, I think, to be a part of the solution, to understand a little about life and to pass this on.” This summer is a personal journey for me for many reasons. But as I write, I hope to show that I care, too.

I hope to learn to use my cursor and blank screen to understand a little more about life and to be a part of the solution. 

Leave a Reply

